Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Farmgirl Chapters
 Farmgirl Chapter Chatter
 Merit Badge Shopping Green
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farmgirl Chapter Chatter: Previous Topic Merit Badge Shopping Green Next Topic  

Glampinggrandma
Farmgirl in Training

11 Posts

Katie
New London MO
USA
11 Posts

Posted - Dec 26 2014 :  10:37:00 AM  Show Profile
As I do not belong to a local farmgirl chapter as I don't believe there are any and I am new at this and have not branched out to start one, I am using this area to discuss using reusable shopping bags. I make them and also use some purchased ones and also some wonderful homemade baskets I have obtained at auctions or the local Amish store in my area. It is so nice to be known as the "basket lady" at my local grocery store and I used these baskets for auction items besides the grocery store and I also use them when I go to St. Louis to the famous Soulard's Open market which I do several times a year as I do grow my own produce in summer and fall. The feel of using them is good and I have even made my husband a believer. He will use a bag when shopping but not the baskets. No one calls him the "bag man" however. I tell so many about using reusable bags. When I had somehow accumulated lots of purchased bags or free ones from stores, and had made myself such pretty ones, I decided to share my bags and had a free bag give away at a local grocery store called Aldies. This is a wonderful grocery store. You have to get your cart outside and pay a quarter to release it from the chained line of carts, but you get your quarter back when you return it. Unless, like many people do, they just pass the cart on to another person coming in and that person gives you the quarter (or not). Well, one day I just took about six bags and went along the line putting them in carts to be picked up by people. I put a not inside saying this was a free gift from another shopper and they should consi