Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Parenting & Farm Kids
 Is Home Ec a dying (dead?) course?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Parenting & Farm Kids: Previous Topic Is Home Ec a dying (dead?) course? Next Topic  

JenniferJuniper
True Blue Farmgirl

359 Posts

Jennifer
New Hampshire
USA
359 Posts

Posted - Nov 11 2006 :  6:36:56 PM  Show Profile
Question: Is Home Economics still being taught in school?

When I was in high school (age disclosure time : 36), Home Ec was an elective, but still taught every year - one semester of sewing, one semester of cooking. When I graduated college, I asked for and my parents bought me a sewing machine. After more than a decade of working & managing numerous young twenty somethings, I noticed a trend of young women who are clueless about what I call "the domestic arts." I once had to sew a button on a young lady's blouse when it popped off, she had no idea how. Others live on fast food out of necessity. Other than knitting's recent resurgence in popularity, they wouldn't be caught dead in clothes they made, even if they knew how to sew.

I don't have children & most of my relatives'/friends' kids are under 12, so I have no personal references. I'm just curious to know if Home Ec has gone the way of slide rulers, or if some school districts still offer electives that don't require tryouts.

willowtreecreek
True Blue Farmgirl

4813 Posts

Julie
Russell AR
USA
4813 Posts

Posted - Nov 11 2006 :  6:45:49 PM  Show Profile
Home Ec is now referred to as Family and Consumer Sciences. It is a requirement in Arkansas Schools for grades 8-12. We have a great FCS department at our school. There even participate in a national organization called FCCLA. You can view the national webpage at http://www.fcclainc.org/.

Jewelry, art, baskets, etc.

www.willowtreecreek.com
Go to Top of Page

julia hayes
True Blue Farmgirl

1132 Posts

julia
medical lake wa
USA
1132 Posts