KatTylee
True Blue Farmgirl

230 Posts

Katrina
Mitchell Nebraska
USA
230 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  12:37:29 PM  Show Profile
I know lots of you either sell at a farmer's market and/or maybe manage your local market. I am considering taking over as the market manager for our local market. Do any of you have any advice or questions I should be asking the current manager before I commit to anything of this sort? I do hesitate to do this as I am new to the state and the area, but at the same time I see it as a perfect opportunity to become even more a part of the community. I have been a vendor for one season at the summer market and am a vendor in my first season at our winter market.

What I do know: It is a paid position, albeit a small payment. It is a small market (around 15-20 vendors). As manager I would be the one setting dates, advertising, and collecting fees.

What I don't know: How much time it really entails. If the summer market manager also will run the winter market. Currently yes, but I don't know if that will continue as they are technically different markets. What politics are involved. What state regulations are regarding markets. And much more that I am sure I haven't thought of. Hence my asking here. Right now I feel like I don't even know enough to know what to ask.

Thank you, in advance, for your help.

~"Be yourself; everyone else is already taken."
— Oscar Wilde~

Farmgirl Sister #3214

http://lazymomgardener.wordpress.com/

http://littlehawkyarns.wordpress.com

www.etsy.com/shop/LittleHawkYarns

ddmashayekhi
True Blue Farmgirl

4737 Posts

Dawn
Naperville Illinois
USA
4737 Posts

Posted - Jan 22 2014 :  1:18:55 PM  Show Profile