Penny Wise
True Blue Farmgirl

1903 Posts

Margo
Elyria OH
USA
1903 Posts

Posted - Oct 22 2013 :  09:18:21 AM  Show Profile
Sisters..I feel like I need to offer some explanation.....put it all in one place for any/all to see....I have not been as active on the boards the last few (more!) months due to life and a quick decision to finally make our move to Hawaii.

let me back up- sweetie and I have talked about it since the day we met- he had lived on both Maui and the Big Island in his past and we were looking very seriously at the Big Island before the economy tanked so horribly in 2009.We went from Ohio to Michigan and then we came back to Ohio in 2012 to be near my kids during my breast cancer treatments.

over the years and various moves, I have acquired lots of "stuff" and have been accumulating more to use for glamping and gifting etc....my kids think I hoard- they haven't been to my mother's house in 13 years.....i'm an amateur!

the kids and grands---ahhhhh I love being near them but they all have lives and don't always have time for mom and ailing/aging stepdad.

we were very lucky to find a wonderful lil house for rent last summer and I was hired to work fulltime where my daughter works....we enjoy our house here but-it's Ohio! it will snow soon and it gets ugly and ucky and ...well....my job was great...they paid me well and I had full benes..as well as a great group to work with! tho there were days!!!!

ok,back to the more recent past; a few months ago I decided that's it-we're going! I don't feel like I belong here and sweetie's mental and physical health would, I think, improve with the climate and Aloha spirit....moving anywhere is not easy-we all know that...moving to Hawaii is harder cuz the moving van just can't get across the water cheaply! and there are no rabies in Hawaii so taking pets is not easy- I KNEW this......arrrrggggghhhhhh