StrawHouseRanch
True Blue Farmgirl

1044 Posts

Paula
Holt Missouri
USA
1044 Posts

Posted - Jun 21 2013 :  06:57:14 AM  Show Profile
It is now very clear that two of the chicks I got from the hatchery that were supposed to be black sex links are definitely roosters. I have decided that I also definitely do not want to deal with keeping roosters. I'm relatively new to keeping chickens, and at our house, they are pets and not livestock. I know that there are some good ones out there. They are going to be gorgeous, like most roosters are. It seems such a shame to destroy such beauty in nature, but one of them has already shown that he is extremely protective of his four girls in his young age of 3 months, and I don't want to have to watch my back all of the time.
I just cannot process them myself. I've thought about it over and over and cannot do the deed. I don't know what my other options are. A friend of mine has been trying to find a home for two roosters he got from the feed store in a batch of chicks and has had no luck.
Does anyone have suggestions or have similar situations, and what did you do?

Paula

Farmgirl Sister #3090
Yesterday is History, Tomorrow is a Mystery, and Today is a Gift.

"Look deep into Nature, and then you will understand everything better."--Albert Einstein
"A meal of bread, cheese and beer constitutes the perfect food." --Queen Elizabeth I

crittergranny
True Blue Farmgirl

1096 Posts

Laura
Lindrith NM
USA
1096 Posts

Posted - Jun 21 2013 :  8:21:51 PM  Show Profile
Put them in a cage and take them to the parking lot of your local grocery store and sell them for $5 each. You might be surprised how fast they sell. Problem solved. However I will say that I'm not sure what you might be talking about that the rooster is protective. Many acts of protectiveness don't necessarily mean that the rooster will be mean to humans or aggressive to the hens. I would say less than half of roosters are mean.
Laura

Horse poor in the boonies.