kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2013 :  07:34:18 AM  Show Profile
I am going to be looking for a new sewing machine. I am NOT a sewer at all, but can sew curtains or shopping bags, quilts, things like that. Easy stuff. But I would like to get a machine that would be a step up from the very small Kenmore that I have but doesn't work. I am NOT technical either. It scares me to no end. But I would be willing to take classes to learn. I want to learn how to make actual clothes. I cannot afford anything too expensive so probably no more than say $500?

So any suggestions for a novice sewer? Thanks.

Kris

Happiness is simple.

www.kris-outbackfarm.blogspot.com

AmethystRose
True Blue Farmgirl

254 Posts

Rosemary
Huntingdon PA
USA
254 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2013 :  12:11:15 PM  Show Profile
Kris, I have been sewing for at least fifty years (yikes!). I can't suggest a brand, as my "best" machine is a thirty year old Singer. If you are near a store that services machines and sells trade ins, I would go there first.

I would recommend a machine with a free arm and buttonhole maker. Zigzag is a must, for covering raw edges of seams. Don't be impressed by all the decorative stitches as a selling feature. I have never used them, and would rather do a little hand embroidery.

Go to Top of Page

princesspatches
True Blue Farmgirl

431 Posts

arttie
iron mountain michigan
USA
431 Posts

Posted - Feb 16 2013 :  12:49:59 PM  Show Profile
I agree with Rosemary. You can get a very nice sewing machine with basic stitches and all metal gears. I love the basic Singer, Brother's, Huskey's and Janome. They all have their best features. They are all truly workhorses in the sewing area.

Look for something that you can maintain yourself with cleaning and oiling. Also look for a machine that has seperste attachments. This way you are only investing in the feet and attachments that you will use.

Good luck and have fun.