princesspatches
True Blue Farmgirl

431 Posts

arttie
iron mountain michigan
USA
431 Posts

Posted - May 29 2012 :  4:49:52 PM  Show Profile
I am new to the world of chickens. WE have 6 right now. Al of a sudden today one of my younger ones (1 year old) is acting weird. I tossed a pile of veggies in the run and she just stood there. Usually she attacks with the rest of the group.

Just a bit ago, I went to close up the coop for the night and she is on the roost, but kind of standing funny and looking around.

Any ideas what could be happening? She is acting like she has been spooked by something. She doesn't seem to be in pain. Just not as feisty as normal.

Maybe I am over-reacting.
Thanks
Arttie

crittergranny
True Blue Farmgirl

1096 Posts

Laura
Lindrith NM
USA
1096 Posts

Posted - May 29 2012 :  7:41:27 PM  Show Profile
When 1 of my chickens acts a little droopy I put them in a quiet place at room temperature. Let them live in an uncovered box in peace for a couple of days and usually they recover. There are so many things that can make them sick that I just treat it all the same and baby them and it usually works. Maybe a little tetracycline or vitamin powder in their water.
Laura

Horse poor in the boonies.

www.nmbarrelhorses.com
Go to Top of Page

batznthebelfry
True Blue Farmgirl

1257 Posts

Michele
Athol Ma
USA
1257 Posts

Posted - May 29 2012 :  8:31:40 PM  Show Profile