junebug
True Blue Farmgirl

2421 Posts

Sue
West Plains, Mo.
USA
2421 Posts

Posted - Aug 11 2006 :  04:55:38 AM  Show Profile
Has anyone made their own sun dried tomatoes? I'm hoping to get enough tomatoes soon, if the critters stop eating them, to try my hand at sun dried, I've never done it before so I needing directions, hints, and tried methods, I'd hate to lose them to the bugs. Thanks!

www.sageflowerfarm.blogspot.com

www.herbalfarmstead.blogspot.com

www.countrypleasures.motime.com

LJRphoto
True Blue Farmgirl

760 Posts

Laura
Hickory Corners MI
USA
760 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2006 :  9:47:30 PM  Show Profile
I've never made sun dried tomatoes but I found this website:

http://homecooking.about.com/od/howtocookvegetables/a/sundriedrecipe.htm

I'm planning to either get a dehydrator or try the oven method for mine. I just don't see remembering to bring them in every night or keeping the cats out of them while I'm sleeping.

"I would feel more optimistic about a bright future for man if he spent less time proving that he can outwit Nature and more time tasting her sweetness and respecting her seniority." -E. B. White

http://www.betweenthecities.com/blog/ljr/
Go to Top of Page

therusticcottage
True Blue Farmgirl

4439 Posts

Kay
Vancouver WA
USA
4439 Posts

Posted - Aug 12 2006 :  11:54:36 PM  Show Profile
Laura thanks for sharing this. I love sun dried tomatoes and never thought of doing my own. Think I'll get some Romas at the Farmer's Market to do the oven process. My brandwine plant is covered in green tomatoes that won't be ripe for a while.

If the brandywines don't get ripe then I can have fried green tomatoes - yum! Anyone else like those?

Lotion bars, linen spray, and purses in my online shop at http://therusticcottage.etsy.com

Read my ramblings at http://rusticcottage.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

LJRphoto
True Blue Farmgirl

760 Posts

Laura
Hickory Corners MI
USA
760 Posts

Posted - Aug 13 2006 :  07:20:07 AM  Show Profile