HealthyEating
Farmgirl at Heart

4 Posts

Barbara
Dawsonville Georgia
USA
4 Posts

Posted - Aug 19 2011 :  5:44:09 PM  Show Profile
Hi Farmgirls all - this is my first time on the forum so I hope I am doing this right. I wanted to post my take on a ChillOver recipe I came up with. Actually, it was sort of accidental, because I didn't have all of the proper ingredients for the "Apple of My Eye" ChillOver recipe in MaryJanes Ideabook. Mary Ann Witcher, our Chapter leader at the Georgia Farmgirls here, said it reminded her of what they used to have at the holidays in her childhood. Here's what I did and it sure turned out well. For more information on the sweeteners I used, see my website at www.HealthyEatingOnTheRun.com/natural-sweeteners.html.

Apple Cranberry Chill Over
Yield: 4 servings

2 large red or golden delicious apples
1/2 teaspoon Lo Han or Stevia sweetener plus more for cranberries
1 packet (1 teaspoon) Chill Over Powder
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
* 1/2 cup unsweetened dried cranberries

1. Barely cover the cranberries with water and soak them for 1-2 hours to rehydrate them.
2. After soaking, add the extra sweetener of your choice to the cranberries to taste.
3. Core the apples and puree them in a blender.
4. If the apple mixture doesn’t equal 2 cups after pureeing, add some cranberry soak water until it does.
5. Add the 1/2 teaspoon sweetener to the apples in a pan on the stove and bring to a boil.
6. Reduce heat to medium-high and sprinkle the Chill Over powder in while stirring.
7. Cook for three minutes only while stirring.
8. Add cinnamon, walnuts and cranberries and blend.
9. Spoon into 4 small dessert dishes or ramekins and put in the refrigerator for one to two hours to set. Enjoy!

* Indicates something that needs to be done ahead of time.

www.HealthyEatingOnTheRun.com
Home of the healthy good for you chocolate

FieldsofThyme
Farmgirl Guide & Schoolmarm / Chapter Leader

4928 Posts

USA
4928 Posts