Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Garden Gate
 Recommendations for a complete beginner?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic Recommendations for a complete beginner? Next Topic  

Sobyn
True Blue Farmgirl

752 Posts

Sabrina
Kansas
USA
752 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2011 :  1:40:01 PM  Show Profile
Hello. I am no good at gardening!! But I really want to be. I have tried growing things in pots, for the most part I kill them (even the "impossible to kill" stuff like aloe). I really want to grow my own food, I would love to turn more of my landscaping edible and grow my own herbs as well. The problem is I know NOTHING about gardening. I have read backyard homestead and square foot gardening, and I get the basic idea but I still feel lost. Do any of you have any recommendations for a complete beginner??? We have managed to get a few tomatoes and a few peppers from our "garden" but hubby deserves the credit for those. I've also managed to keep 3 dwarf citrus trees alive for about a year and a half now, although no fruit yet (not that I expected any!). So...suggestions? Where do I start? I feel totally overwhelmed there is so much to learn!!!

Farmgirl Sister #3275

oldbittyhen
True Blue Farmgirl

1511 Posts

tina
quartz hill ca
USA
1511 Posts

Posted - Aug 15 2011 :  2:40:43 PM  Show Profile