Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Garden Gate
 New Here--Would You Like to See My Garden?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic New Here--Would You Like to See My Garden? Next Topic  

mydakota
True Blue Farmgirl

152 Posts

kristi
redmond oregon
USA
152 Posts

Posted - Jul 21 2011 :  09:35:50 AM  Show Profile
Hi! I am new to MaryJanes Farm! My brother sent me a MJF magazine for my birthday and that is how I found this place. I am loving it so far. :-) I live in a very arid, harsh climate--but love to garden. A recipe for neurosis, yes? Or maybe just a challenge? Anyway, I would like to share some pics of my little farm. If any of you have any tips for dry/cold weather farming I am all ears!

We have terrible problems with deer here. If you leave anything unprotected, you are going to lose it. I know some of the netting is unsightly, but it is much less expensive than a fence and has been very effective. I have not lost anything to the deer since I started using it. You just have to have your beds up against something high to hang it from.

This is my raspberry patch, backing up to one of my chicken yards. There is a small herb bed in front of it. The herbs are unprotected because the deer don't like what I have planted here, and have always left it alone.

This is another herb bed, located just to the north of my cold frame.

The large white building is my husbands shop. Just to this side of that is my milk shed and my goat separation pen. This is where I put my does to separate them from their kids for awhile before I milk. To the left of the separation pen is my strawberry/asparagus bed. Directly in front of it is my larges outside garden bed protected by the green net. It is important to use large mesh net so that the bees don't have any trouble passing through.