MelodyRose
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Melody
Hallsville Missouri
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2011 :  7:43:11 PM  Show Profile
I am fairly new to bread making. I've recently started making all our bread from scratch (I must be getting better, because dh is a picky eater and has begun to let me make his!). I have a recipe that we really like that makes good sandwich bread, but after the first day it gets crumbly. There are just so many crumbs falling from the sandwiches! It's weird, because I wouldn't call it "dry" but it starts to crumble apart. My friend recommended using a dough conditioner, but I don't know what that is, and I'm trying to keep my ingredient list as short as possible. In all other ways, it's great. Texture, density, moisture, taste... it just gets crumbly. I keep it sealed. What can I do to help with this?

www.aquietlittlelife.blogspot.com

www.MRSdesigns.etsy.com

Okie Farm Girl
True Blue Farmgirl

1674 Posts

Mary Beth
McLoud Oklahoma
USA
1674 Posts

Posted - Jul 20 2011 :  7:47:50 PM  Show Profile
You can get dough enhancer online at PleasantHillGrains.com It is lecithin and helps keep the texture of the bread uniform. How much oil does your recipe use? I find that the more oil the better. My recipe uses 1/2 cup. Also, how long are you kneading it and how are you kneading it?

Mary Beth

www.OklahomaPastryCloth.com
www.Oklahomapastrycloth.com/blog
The Sovereign Lord is my strength - Habakkuk 3:19
Go to Top of Page

Merry
True Blue Farmgirl

765 Posts

Merry
Ankeny Iowa
USA
765 Posts

Posted - Jul 21 2011 :  09:47:11 AM  Show Profile
I second the dough enhancer, you can buy it or make your own, just google dough enhancer recipes. There are several versions out there, but I like the one that includes pectin and gelatin. It will also help your bread keep its freshness a little bit longer. I use this recipe http://www.ellenskitchen.com/recipebox/breadbuilder.html and have had great success.