Kelly Wall
True Blue Farmgirl

430 Posts

Kelly
Apison TN
USA
430 Posts

Posted - Jun 07 2011 :  06:41:57 AM  Show Profile
My 8 yr old daughter purchased 4 ducks in early March, we are keeping them in our "empty" chicken pen. We are wondering if they are old enough to release them. we have a stream in our front yard that leads to a large wet land. Do you think they will survive, and be safe? i have no duck experience. They will however be where we can see them and hear any commotion.

Kelly
Farmgirl #238

May your bobbin always be full...

kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Jun 07 2011 :  06:52:06 AM  Show Profile
Kelly, I had a small kids pool in the chicken yard for my ducks. I would have to change it every few days because, well, ducks are nasty and messy and would all get in and throw the water out with their wings. But they loved the pool. I don't know about just letting them out loose. They might not survive neighborhood dogs or wildlife very long. Maybe others have had experience with wide open spaces and ducks. I do know when we had lots of rain the bottom part of our pasture would be a pond and they loved it there. But it is fenced in too.

Kris

Happiness is simple.
Go to Top of Page

Kelly Wall
True Blue Farmgirl

430 Posts

Kelly
Apison TN
USA
430 Posts

Posted - Jun 07 2011 :  06:56:45 AM  Show Profile
Thanks Kris, I have a pool for them and they love it! My choc. Lab is used to the ducks and wont bother them, yes they are nasty and messy and are attracting flies! My front yard isn't fenced in, however the stream is tree lined and fenced on the outside.

Kelly
Farmgirl #238

Go to Top of Page

Dusky Beauty
True Blue Farmgirl

1108 Posts

Jen
Tonopah AZ
USA
1108 Posts

Posted - Jun 08 2011 :  10:38:44 AM  Show Profile
My mother told me recently that she had ducks when I was a baby... till they swam away down the creek never to be seen again! lol