Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 Which seam to use- flannel lined velour?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Which seam to use- flannel lined velour? Next Topic  

MaryLD
True Blue Farmgirl

861 Posts

Mary
New Braunfels TX
USA
861 Posts

Posted - Jan 12 2011 :  08:18:07 AM  Show Profile
Help!!
I'm still pretty new to knits, and I got the idea of making a projct that is proving rather complicated at this juncture!

It's a toddler poncho made of velour, lined with flannel. The author has no knowledge of knits, and cannot help me! (??) Maybe she made hers of all wovens.

Anyway, I have some nice thrift store fabrics, and the outerwear piece is ready to sew to the lining. I used a knit stretchy seam on the velour, regular staight stitch on the flannel when assembling them. I now need to sew them togther, right sides together, to move on witht he project.
What seam should I use? The important thing is the drape- the point is to sew all around the edges, which will line and in that way hem the project all at once.

Then, when I sew little pom pom fringe all the way around the project edges, which seam will I use at that point??
Any help is appriciated. I have been using a universal point needle but I think I'll use a ball point next time I work with the velour. Any thoughts on using a ball point to sew my seam or add the pom pom fringe??
Thanks, as ever!
Mary LD
PS I have another pattern where a woven is used to edge the neck, sleeves, and hem of a dress, which I'll be making with jersey and a batik. I'm guessing I'll use the same approcah as for this project, on that one, right?

Haflingers- You can't have just one!
( I'm just one short of a drill team!)

MaryLD
True Blue Farmgirl

861 Posts

Mary
New Braunfels TX
USA
861 Posts