Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Garden Gate
 Help Problems with my tomato plants
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic Help Problems with my tomato plants Next Topic  

summerbreeze
True Blue Farmgirl

277 Posts

Laura
WA
USA
277 Posts

Posted - Jun 16 2006 :  5:36:25 PM  Show Profile
Hi Everyone,
I'm a new "farm girl" wana be. I am starting on a small scale. This is my first try at tomato plants in the state of Washington. My plants have lots of green foliage but no tomatoes setting. Any advice?

Thank you.

You only live once,if you do it right once is enough.

Edited by - summerbreeze on Jun 17 2006 8:41:09 PM

brightmeadow
True Blue Farmgirl

2045 Posts

Brenda
Lucas Ohio
USA
2045 Posts

Posted - Jun 16 2006 :  6:38:17 PM  Show Profile
It might be early yet, when did you set them out? Here in Ohio I have blossoms on some varieties and still waiting on others. We had such cold rainy weather in late May I didn't get them planted until the first of June, and it has been chilly here (50's at night) so far in June, so they're not growing as fast as I had hoped. My past experience has been that no matter how early I start them in pots, it doesn't really matter until I put them into the ground in the garden. I still expect to have tomatoes by mid-July, maybe 1st of August. What are your frost dates?

What variety of tomato did you plant, and what is the maturity (in days) for that variety? I try to plant a few plants of several different varieties. Early tomatoes (maturing in 65 or fewer days) are the ones I get in mid- July, the later ones (up to and beyond 80 days) I don't get much of a crop until September.

Another possibility is that your soil is high in nitrogen, feeding the leaves more than the roots/blossoms. Did you test it? Soil test kits are available at most garden stores or your county extension agent can probably advise.