Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2004 :  10:50:05 AM  Show Profile
Do any of you spin, and/or have your own fiber animals? I have been spinning for about 11 years. I have sheep (Icelandic, Jacob, and churro) and an angora goat (mohair) and 2 angora rabbits. I mostly spin 2 ply yarn to knit with, but do a little bit of Navajo weaving.
I especially like to work with natural colored yarn, and have quite a variety with my own animals, but do like to experiment with natural dyes sometimes too.
Would love to meet other spinnners.

Jenny in Utah

Bloom where you are planted!

ElizArtist
True Blue Farmgirl

113 Posts

Elizabeth
Newbury Park California
USA
113 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2004 :  11:27:27 PM  Show Profile
Hi Jenny, I am a spinner too. I've been spinning for about 9 years I think. I love it. I just ordered some fleeces from Sky Line farms after reading about them in MJsFarm I'm very excited. Lately I've been spinning a lot of cotton because our local guild had Joan ruane out to teach us how to spin cotton. Before I was using a charka for it but now I can do it on the Schacht I'm much happier, I already wove up a couple of skeins of it into fabric that I'll make a top out of. I am getting a bit tired of the cotton though and am eager to finish off what I have and start on wool again. I usually knit too, but have been weaving with the handspun quite a bit more. Navajo weaving is lovely, I have tried it, but prefer weaving on the floor looms. What natural dyes have you used? Do you gather herbs or grow them or buy them? Oh yes, I have one angora bunny and a sheltie. Someday I'll have some sheep or alpacas or something like that I hope.
Elizabeth in California
Go to Top of Page

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2004 :  11:39:04 PM  Show Profile