earthcore
Farmgirl in Training

19 Posts

Kate
Ohio
USA
19 Posts

Posted - May 20 2006 :  12:49:26 PM  Show Profile
Maybe this is a dumb question, but this is my first year planting a garden, so....

I'll just go ahaead and ask.

How do I keep the critters from eating my spinach?

Eileen
True Blue Farmgirl

1199 Posts

Eileen

USA
1199 Posts

Posted - May 20 2006 :  2:39:05 PM  Show Profile
Have you seen what is eating it?
Eileen

Songbird; singing joy to the earth
Go to Top of Page

CabinCreek-Kentucky
True Blue Farmgirl

8529 Posts

Frannie
Green County Kentucky
USA
8529 Posts

Posted - May 20 2006 :  3:41:59 PM  Show Profile
don't know why .. but last year (my first planting year here at Cabin Creek Farm) .. critters didn't seem to bother my veggies. I've been hearing a lot about RABBITS destroying not only veggies but PLANTS (hostas especially) down here this year. I researched it on 'google' .. and all i could come up with so far is: GET A BIG DOG .. and BUY A GUN! Well, i've got the big dogs .. but won't hear of them gnawing on those little critters (they are fenced in a HUGE yard). and i can't swat a fly .. so i know i surely cannot shoot at a living creature.

I did hear tell of sprinkling hot pepper on plants .. but you have to do that every time it rains .. and that could get fairly expensive.

I'll be watching to hear what great sage advice some of the girls come up with! xo

True Friends, Frannie
Go to Top of Page

Phils Ann
True Blue Farmgirl

1095 Posts

Ann
Parsonsburg Maryland
USA
1095 Posts

Posted - May 21 2006 :  3:56:47 PM  Show Profile
Frannie, I don't know if this is sage ;) but after several years of rabbits eating the flowers, biting the stalks and killing the whole plants, my yard which is not grass but really various weeds grew a large patch of clover... the wild, white flowered type. The rabbits don't seem to bother anything else. I watch them out the kitchen window devouring their salad.