Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 Strawberry Jam/Jelly recipe needed
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Strawberry Jam/Jelly recipe needed Next Topic  

Addybelle
Farmgirl in Training

34 Posts

Adrienne
Louisville KY
USA
34 Posts

Posted - May 23 2010 :  2:29:10 PM  Show Profile  Send Addybelle a Yahoo! Message
I want an old-fashioned jam/jelly recipe. I'm just getting into canning and tried the freezer jam stuff. Its good, but I don't think it comes close to the richness of the old fashioned kind. I want to try making some other jellies as well, so whatever recipes or resources you could help me with would be great! I also have some of MJF chillover powder and wouldn't mind some recipes for that! Thanks, Ladies! My tummy appreciates it!

~Adrienne
http://addybellesgarden.blogspot.com
Suffering from Barnheart...thanks Jenna W. :-)

emsmommy5
True Blue Farmgirl

1547 Posts

Angie
Buckley WA
USA
1547 Posts

Posted - May 23 2010 :  2:47:41 PM  Show Profile
I always use the basic recipes 1n the pectin boxes. I will often mixed different berries for variety. I used the reaspberry jam recipe the other day and added strawberries, blueberries, huckleberries, blackberries and cherries to the raspberry puree to add up to the numebr of cups on the box recipe.

Do what you love, love what you do.
Go to Top of Page

Calicogirl
True Blue Farmgirl

5216 Posts

Sharon
Bruce Crossing Michigan
USA
5216 Posts

Posted - May 23 2010 :  4:23:48 PM  Show Profile
I always use the recipes from the packages of pectin also. I have had the most success with Sure-Jel :) Boy Strawberry Jelly sounds wonderful, hmmm on a scone made with crystallized ginger and lemon zest :)

~Sharon

By His Grace, For His Glory

http://merryheartjournal.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

sherrye
True Blue Farmgirl

3775 Posts

sherry
bend in the high desert oregon
USA
3775 Posts