natesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

1735 Posts

angela
martinsville indiana
USA
1735 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2010 :  6:27:15 PM  Show Profile
I have been days now trying everything I can to make the tangling stop. I have even actively pulled out thread as I'm starting. I have adjusted the thread tension to every setting. It's tangling when I start, turn, slow down, and even in the middle of the seam for no apparent reason. When I finally manage to pull the material loose there is 6 or 8 loops underneath and I have to pull several broken loops out of the area where the bobbin is setting. Any ideas?

God - Gardening - Family - Is anything else important?
Go to Top of Page

graciegreeneyes
True Blue Farmgirl

3107 Posts

Amy Grace
Rosalia WA
USA
3107 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2010 :  8:37:12 PM  Show Profile
Maybe the wrong kind of needle - something like that happened to me when using a regular needle on fabric with 5% lycra. I am not an expert though

Farmgirl #224
"use it up, wear it out, make it do, or do without"
Go to Top of Page

Sheep Mom 2
True Blue Farmgirl

1534 Posts

Sheri
Elk WA
USA
1534 Posts

Posted - Apr 16 2010 :  10:10:16 PM  Show Profile
What type of bobbin case does your machine have? Is it a drop in bobbin or the type with a bobbin case? If it has a bobbin case it could need an adjustment. Is the needle new or the one that came with the machine? Sometimes the needle can be slightly bent and you can't see it or it can be dull. The tension is unbalanced and that is why the loops. If it is a drop in bobbin, check and make sure there is no lint in the bobbin area as sometimes that can mess up the tension. Make sure the bobbin is in right side up. Also double check that the bobbin thread is in the proper slot to give it tension.

Blessings, Sheri

"Work is Love made visible" -Kahlil Gibran
Go to Top of Page

natesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

1735 Posts

angela
martinsville indiana
USA
1735 Posts

Posted - Apr 17 2010 :  2:32:37 PM  Show Profile