Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 **Welcome Wagon
 New to the forum, but not to MaryJanesFarm
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author **Welcome Wagon: Previous Topic New to the forum, but not to MaryJanesFarm Next Topic  

Ardis Eckel
Farmgirl in Training

25 Posts

Ardis
Harpster Idaho
USA
25 Posts

Posted - Nov 23 2004 :  11:34:47 AM  Show Profile
Hi, this is my first time on the Farm girl Connection, although I'm very familiar with MJF magazine since I read each one cover to cover. And am proud to even be included with a story Mary Jane asks for every now and then.
I was just reading through some of the messages, and some to do with taking care of your skin as a country girl. I'm a country girl, too, raised on a North Central Idaho farm, where I cooked my Scottish-Irish skin every summer and had no idea what sun block was and never had the money to spend on skin care. Skin care was soap and water.
My skin was always very dry. And as a young mother, I tried to tan on purpose. More sun damage. As a mother of two girls in Horse 4-H, I spent 13 summers in the arena, no hat, no sun block. Yes, I did know what it was by then, but it burned and ran in my eyes and stung.
So at 48, with skin cancer on my nose and very bad sun damage across my cheeks and chin, I decided a laser resurfacing was a better alternative than what I saw my father and father-in-law do every three months and that was to go have skin cancers burned off individually.