Page: of 3

Flower
True Blue Farmgirl

66 Posts

Shirley
Kentucky
USA
66 Posts

Posted - Feb 27 2010 :  10:00:43 AM  Show Profile  Click to see Flower's MSN Messenger address
Greetings
I am looking to purchase a Tennessee Walker horse..I am a very novice horse and riding person. I have started taking some lessons in horsemanship and riding. It is just a personal pastime pleasure..I have just always loved horses but been a bit fearful of riding after a negative experience as a teenager. However once I moved to Kentucky at age 50 I decided I must overcome this fear to enjoy a passion. I would welcome and appreciate any advise whatsoever about riding, horses, purchasing a horse, etc..Thank you..have a great day everyone!

blessings to all

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Feb 27 2010 :  10:29:04 AM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
Hi Shirley!

I board my horse at a Tennesee Walker breeding ranch here in Montana. They have some excellent horses with very sweet temperments. I have ridden one of them that is a gelding and I guess you could consider a cull- he has a harder time gaiting than the other horses but I got him into that running walk and I have to say it's an amazing experience! It's so nice to be able to ride and not get bounced around!

One thing I would say is take some lessons from a reputable instructor before buying a horse. Let them know you are overcoming a fear issue so they can work with you on it. I know you will do great! Also make sure that said instructor teaches you about basic horse care. In a perfect world it would be great if they could become some sort of a mentor that would be around to help whenever you need it. That is what I have out at my barn and I think she is great!