babynurse
Farmgirl in Training

18 Posts

Christine
Amherst Virginia
USA
18 Posts

Posted - Feb 07 2010 :  8:27:05 PM  Show Profile
I work part-time as a nurse, but I don't want to fill up all of my days with working. We definitely need some extra income these days, but I have 5 children and a husband to take care of. I still think that being at home is more important than boosting our income. I'd rather do without and be home for my family.

So I am trying to get creative and be resourceful. I was wondering if anyone could suggest some kind of marketable product that I could produce at home? I love crafting, I love to create things...the item I've been considering is homemade soap. I don't have much experience with any kind of sewing...let's just say the only thing I CAN do is crocet, and I'm only so-so at that. Anyway, I'd like to hear any and all suggestions on that topic!

My husband and I also own 5 acres of land that is currently just sitting while we wait for the economy to improve enough for us to start building. Does anyone know of some way I could put that land to good use? I hate to see it just sitting, knowing that it could potentially bring in some money even now. The land used to be part of an apple orchard, so I know it is well-suited for crops. I know there has got to be someone out there who may want to lease the land in order to do some kind of growing. (The only restriction on the land is animals - no livestock) Anyway, hubby and I would be very interested in leasing the land if there were someone out there to do it...do any of you know if this is an off-the-wall idea, or if not, how to go about finding someone who may want to do that? I don't even know where to begin. Any other ideas of what we can do would also be appreciated!!!

Thanks and God bless,
Christine

maggie14
True Blue Farmgirl

6784 Posts

Hannah
Washington
USA
6784 Posts

Posted - Feb 07 2010 :  8:48:51 PM  Show Profile  Send maggie14 a Yahoo! Message