True Blue Farmgirl

211 Posts

TJ
Billings MT
USA
211 Posts

Posted - Jan 19 2010 :  10:52:54 AM  Show Profile
Hello all!

I saw in a nearby used furniture store a vintage Singer sewing machine (black with decals) on a cabinet with the treadle. I didn't write down the serial number, I probably should have! They were asking $269 for it - I don't know if it works, but the hand-crank did work on the side. Does anyone know how I'd go about determining if this is a worthwhile investment? or if I should ask if they'd take less?

I'm a novice sewing machine user with a modern machine... this just appealed to my inner Farmgirl!

Your thoughts??

"You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me." -CS Lewis

LisaTwo
True Blue Farmgirl

127 Posts

Lisa
Hampden Maine
USA
127 Posts

Posted - Jan 19 2010 :  3:02:52 PM  Show Profile
I think that sounds a little pricey. I see treadle machines go at auction up here in Maine for no more than $100.00 and that's in perfect shape. If you are really looking for one, I'd check Craig's list. The good thing about treadle machines is that not much can go bad on them. A new belt which you can buy for about $10.00 is all you need to get them going again. Good luck!

http://pinkporches.blogspot.com/

http://www.etsy.com/shop/PinkPorches

*And you know when the truth is told-- you can get what you want--or you can just get old.* (Billy Joel)
Go to Top of Page

TJinMT
True Blue Farmgirl

211 Posts

TJ
Billings MT
USA
211 Posts

Posted - Jan 19 2010 :  3:44:53 PM  Show Profile
Oh wow!! I think you just saved me a bunch of money! Thanks for the help!

"You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me." -CS Lewis
Go to Top of Page

Miss Bee Haven
True Blue Farmgirl

4331 Posts

Janice
Louisville/Irvington Kentucky
USA
4331 Posts

Posted - Jan 20 2010 :  05:34:17 AM  Show Profile  Send Miss Bee Haven a Yahoo! Message