FebruaryViolet
True Blue Farmgirl

4810 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4810 Posts

Posted - Nov 18 2009 :  07:19:30 AM  Show Profile
I have been asked to bring a "green vegetable" to our Thanksgiving at my mil's, and I am just bored to death with the green bean dish I've been making for 15 years or more, and my husband refuses to eat it because it has a vinegar base.

Basically, it's green beans, layered with onions, s & p, and you fry a lb. of bacon, reserve the drippings, crumble the bacon and place on top of the layered green beans/onions. Mix the drippings with brown sugar, and vinegar to emulsify. Pour over green beans/onions and refrigerate up to 48 hours. Bake until warmed all through. It's excellent, though not for folks watching their waistline. It came from Southern Sideboards, a Junior League cookbook from Jackson, MS. It always gets rave reviews, but this time, I'd like to make something that Jus can eat too, and I'm just a bit bored with it.

Qualifiers: can't be too pedestrian--my mil is a gourmet cook and eats French cuisine, and we are none of us fans of the cream of mushroom one with the Durkee onions (I'm not trying to offend and don't mean to be snobby, it's just a matter of different tastes). I will also need to be able to make it at home and bring it and have the dish stand on it's own to be served when the remainder of dinner is ready. I can't use the oven there because there will be so much going on already.

Any ideas? I guess it could also be another green vegetable like broccoli, but I never think of that at Thanksgiving. What else????

Musings from our family in the Bluegrass http://sweetvioletmae.blogspot.com/

nubidane
True Blue Farmgirl

2875 Posts

Lisa
Georgetown OH
2875 Posts

Posted - Nov 18 2009 :  08:42:09 AM  Show Profile
Jonni