Author Here's to Your Health: Previous Topic Insurance Next Topic  

Montrose Girl
Farmgirl Legend/Schoolmarm

1360 Posts

Laurie
Montrose CO
1360 Posts

Posted - Nov 12 2009 :  07:13:21 AM  Show Profile
Ah the lecture. I went to the health clinic on campus yesterday. As an older student I got the doctor lecture about health insurance and the need for it. I'm pretty healthy. Had plurasy a few times and the eczema, but nothing major. Well this time I needed some tests, oh joy. The thought of health insurance drives me crazy, because our system is now such that you almost have to have it. I paid cash, my boyfriend does the same when he needs something, but this was enough to make me worry. I'm getting older, but how much is really needed. Costs are skyrocketting. If not for that pay as you go is a great thing. I make enough now I can stash aside for emergencies, small ones anyways. I haven't the total of yesterdays visit , but am supposed to go get a stress EKG test, which I am told is spendy. I think I was born in the wrong time. I like the local doctor, course we didn't know as much back then.

**Sigh**
Laurie

Best Growing

ddmashayekhi
True Blue Farmgirl

4738 Posts

Dawn
Naperville Illinois
USA
4738 Posts

Posted - Nov 12 2009 :  07:37:08 AM  Show Profile
I would check on what type of health insurance you can afford. Decide how much of a deductible I can afford and then choose a plan. Even if a person is normally healthy, accidents can happen, insurance will give some security against skyrocketing doctor, hospital, and prescription bills.

Best of luck on your tests. I would call ahead and ask the cost for each test. That is what I had to do until I got health insurance for myself and my sons 11 years ago.

Dawn in IL
Go to Top of Page

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Nov 12 2009 :  08:08:52 AM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message