Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Making Bread Next Topic  

Montrose Girl
Farmgirl Legend/Schoolmarm

1360 Posts

Laurie
Montrose CO
1360 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  09:34:00 AM  Show Profile
Making bread has always been a bit of a challenge to me, but today, since we have 6 inches of snow (they said 3, hmm) and I can't get to class an hour away I'm home bound. I'm studying as there is a test on Friday, but with the cooler weather the oven is calling. It also heats up the house nicely. So I dug through my cookbooks and found a recipe for olive bread. What the heck. I just bought flour. There's yeast in the fridge. So now it is rising. I think I need to ask for big bowls for Christmas as the one had had got dirty quick and trying to get it washed fast enough to put the dough back in to rise wasn't going to happen. It's soaking at the moment.

So anyone else snowed in today?

Laurie

Best Growing

1badmamawolf
True Blue Farmgirl

2199 Posts

Teresa
"Bent Fence Farms" Ca
USA
2199 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  10:09:21 AM  Show Profile
Not snowed in, but we are wind/dust stormed in, please send some moisture my way, lol. We are also under a freeze warning thru tomorrow at 8am, so its cold.

"Treat the earth well, it was not given to you by your parents, it was loaned to you by your children"
Go to Top of Page

Heather B
True Blue Farmgirl

562 Posts

Heather
Longmont Colorado
USA
562 Posts

Posted - Oct 28 2009 :  10:19:34 AM  Show Profile
Hey Laurie!
Not snowed in, YET, but the schools have been canceled and I'm home. we are sharing the same storm just on different ends of the state. There just seems to be something about a cold snowy day that says, BAKING! After feeding the chickens at 4:30 AM I headed back into the kitchen and started up a crockpot of stew for lunch. The smells are wafting through the house now....my mouth is watering. I'm going to catch up on some sewing and then hit the kitchen and bake up some goodies!
Have fun and stay warm!

Heather