True Blue Farmgirl

244 Posts

Kate
Marlboro NY
USA
244 Posts

Posted - Sep 18 2009 :  11:29:17 AM  Show Profile
Hi Folks,
I have an opportunity to Barter some Peaches for some Honey. I think I would like to trade (1) jam, (1) jelly and some pints of peaches. Trouble is that I am not sure how many pints. I am trading for 5 pounds of Honey. Can anyone help me out here. I am pretty new to this.
Thanks,
Quiltin_Kate

"Be yourself, everyone else is already taken" Oscar Wilde

LakeOntarioFarmgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

933 Posts

Brenda
North Rose NY
USA
933 Posts

Posted - Sep 18 2009 :  1:34:24 PM  Show Profile
Hello Kate from another NY farmgirl!! You are not too far from me- maybe just over an hour!

Do you know how much the 5 lbs. of honey would sell for in your area? (We just bought 2 1/2 lbs. of raw honey for just under $6.00). That would give you a starting point at least. Then if you could sort of figure out how much your preserves and peaches might sell for? I know preserves can be expensive if you buy them at a market(farm). I think the pint jars sell for at least $3.00 here.

I don't know if I've helped you or confused you!! I've never bartered before so have a hard time figuring out how much it would be.
I'm curious to see everyone else's answers though!
And welcome to the farmgirl forums, you're going to love it here! :)

Brenda
FarmGirl # 711

http://theviewfromhere-brenda.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

Autumn Leaves
True Blue Farmgirl

463 Posts

Jennifer
Northern California
USA
463 Posts

Posted - Sep 18 2009 :  2:44:27 PM  Show Profile