Shery Jespersen
True Blue Farmgirl

115 Posts

Shery
Upton Wyoming
USA
115 Posts

Posted - Sep 15 2009 :  07:47:16 AM  Show Profile
One of the many positive feelings that reading my MJF magazines generates is 'gratefulness'. I so appreciate all the helpful info, ideas, inspirational thoughts and the workaday beauty throughout.

Yesterday I had even more reason to be grateful in connection to my MJF experience. In one of the online MJF chatroom groups, it was decided some time ago that 'we' would have a potholder exhange. My husband and I ranch for a living (Wyoming) and I have to go to town to get my mail. When I received the package from my new friend, Carol McElroy, I was as anxious as a child and promptly tore open the envelope. Inside there were not only the 2 handmade crocheted potholders, but a matching washcloth, garden gloves and clear bookmark with a perfectly preserved viola from Carol's garden! To say I was delighted is an understatement.

God's timing is perfect and so is His expression of love via the hearts of kind people. Carol could not have known that her lovely gifts came at a time when I needed an upper. And, it wasn't so much the tangible items in the package, it was her gift of giving that I really needed most. Confession: I had been feeling rather used of late, I was feeling like a weary giver and having a private little pity party (except that now YOU know). The good Lord already knew my little secret. It wasn't a big thing, not worthy of mentioning to anyone. I would have felt like a whiner. But even so, my feelings were wrinkling my otherwise good attitude.