Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 making a meal out of my rooster....
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic making a meal out of my rooster.... Next Topic  

prairie_princess
True Blue Farmgirl

613 Posts

Elizabeth
Carpenter WY
USA
613 Posts

Posted - Aug 02 2009 :  10:44:24 AM  Show Profile
ok gals.... this will be my first account with killing and butchering my own animal. it's something we plan on doing for the rest of our life. but i've never done it before. i don't know how i'll react, but i don't think i'm very squeamish about these kinds of things.
just wondered if any of you had any advice! or stories about your first time killing an animal. i know it's a squeamish subject, but i figure there are some of you farm gals out there that raise and eat your own stock....

"Only two things that money can't buy, that's true love and homegrown tomatoes."
- Guy Clark

"The man who has planted a garden feels he has done something for the good of the world."
- Charles Dudley Warner

Marybeth
True Blue Farmgirl

6418 Posts

Mary Beth
Stanwood Wa 98292
USA
6418 Posts

Posted - Aug 02 2009 :  11:22:44 AM  Show Profile
This is a strange subject to talk about--we all want to be so lady-like and genteel. LOL
How are you going to do the killing?
The first chicken I killed (as a grown-up) I chopped it's head off. By the way it is harder than when I watched my Father do it. Some just do a quick jerk to wring the neck. I have no advice about this---JUST DO IT--I guess. MB

http://www.smallcityscenes.blogspot.com
www.strawberryhillsfarm.blogspot.com
www.day4plus.blogspot.com www.holyhouses-day4plus.blogspot.com
"Life may not be the party we hoped for...but while we are here we might as well dance!"
Go to Top of Page

prairie_princess
True Blue Farmgirl

613 Posts

Elizabeth
Carpenter WY
USA
613 Posts

Posted - Aug 02 2009 :  12:35:45 PM  Show Profile