Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2009 :  8:52:12 PM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
I hate tension on my machine. I always seem to get loops on the bottom side of the seam. I just re-oiled my machine and it seems to be doing better now, but ARGH! I wish the machines would self adjust or something!

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.awarmheart.com
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com
www.allergyjourneys.blogspot.com
Put your pin on the farmgirl map! www.farmgirlmap.blogspot.com

AlyssaMarie
True Blue Farmgirl

287 Posts

AlyssaMarie
Palouse Washington
USA
287 Posts

Posted - Jul 01 2009 :  9:46:30 PM  Show Profile
I hear ya! I've been fighting with my machine for several months now. It seems like my problems got more noticeable when I started to learn to do more complicated techniques and I was changing settings more often to do what the manual said to do based on the type of fabric and whatnot. So now I'm thinking the whole thing should go in for a tune up or something.

AlyssaMarie @ Link'd Hearts Ranch
Go to Top of Page

nut4fabric
True Blue Farmgirl

885 Posts

Kathy
Morgan Hill CA
USA
885 Posts

Posted - Jul 02 2009 :  05:24:27 AM  Show Profile
The rule of thumb is...if the problem is on the bottom of the fabric the upper tension is off....if the problem is on the top of the fabric the lower tension is off. Make sure you are using a new needle and the right one for the fabric that you are using. A 70 for lightweight fabrics, 80 for medium weight and 90 for heavy weights. Hope this helps
Kathy
Go to Top of Page

Calicogirl
True Blue Farmgirl

5216 Posts

Sharon
Bruce Crossing Michigan
USA
5216 Posts

Posted - Jul 02 2009 :  06:00:56 AM  Show Profile
Alee,

When I saw this post, I thought "Oh no, did something happen where Alee is stressed?" Then I remembered the post was in the stitching and Crafting Room :)

~Sharon

By His Grace, For His Glory

http://merryheartjournal.blogspot.com/
Go to Top of Page

Alee