Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Outpost
 Beginner MJ "out there" badge question
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Outpost: Previous Topic Beginner MJ "out there" badge question Next Topic  

Sandra K. Licher
True Blue Farmgirl

1106 Posts

Sandra
Horseshoe Bend Arkansas
1106 Posts

Posted - May 02 2009 :  08:01:57 AM  Show Profile
Okay, I am putting together a "survival pack" for day hikes based on Mary Jane's list in her beginner badge requirement. It calls for first aid supplies and wondering what all that entails? Specifically what should I have in it? Rainproof poncho and space blanket? Where do I get these? Reflective nylon cord...what is this for and where do I find it? If anyone could help me I would appreciate it. Do you carry a backpack with all this stuff in it?
Can you tell I am new to this? Thanks for any info from some of you more experienced outdoor mavens!

Sam in AR..... "It's a great life if you don't weaken!"
Farmgirl Sister #226

www.farmgirlsam.blogspot.com

prariehawk
True Blue Farmgirl

2914 Posts

Cindy

2914 Posts

Posted - May 02 2009 :  3:56:35 PM  Show Profile
Sandra--REI carries all the stuff you're looking for.If there's not a store near you, you can shop on-line. Have fun hiking!
Cindy

"Dog is my co-pilot"
Go to Top of Page

Merry
True Blue Farmgirl

765 Posts

Merry
Ankeny Iowa
USA
765 Posts

Posted - May 02 2009 :  10:40:25 PM  Show Profile
Any sportsman warehouse or hunting store should carry those things, good luck!

http://afarminmyheart.blogspot.com/

"Nobody has ever measured, not even poets how much the heart can hold."
Zelda Fitzgerald
Go to Top of Page

Sandra K. Licher
True Blue Farmgirl

1106 Posts

Sandra
Horseshoe Bend Arkansas
1106 Posts

Posted - May 03 2009 :  05:34:10 AM  Show Profile