Mother Hen
True Blue Farmgirl

604 Posts

Cindy
Peck ID
USA
604 Posts

Posted - Apr 29 2009 :  8:25:48 PM  Show Profile
Today DH, DD, and I went to town to sell some cattle at the livestock auction. Well it was a huge auction today where they had everything being sold. We came home with 2 horses.
Some of you may remember I was looking for a horse because the one I had before was too smart for me. I'm a novice rider beginning late in life.
Well, DH bought me a nice old mare(even though he didn't want any more mares) and he bought DD an old gelding. Both of them were supposedly from a place where you go and pay to ride up by Coeur d'Alene (resort area).
They have great dispositions so far. We haven't been on them yet(they were rode in the auction ring) as you can see their ribs a bit. When we unloaded them at home they were so excited to see green grass that they ate for 1 hour nearly non-stop. I really hope they work out for us as DD has been wanting to go riding together for quite a while now, about 3 years.
My heart was probably weakend also by the "60 dead horses" story that was posted here, I went and read the article.
Well, the price was good, the statements about them were also, so now, we'll just have to wait and see if we made out or not.

Cindy

FARMGIRLS CAN DO ANYTHING!!!

I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth. Psalms 34:1

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Apr 29 2009 :  8:37:43 PM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
Cindy- Just be careful with a horse that hasn't been on fresh grass for a while. If they eat too much all at once they can founder from the high sugar load in grass. Here is a great article that explains it all:
http://www.horsecity.com/stories/071403/hea_grassfounder_HB.shtml

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.awarmheart.com
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com
www.allergyjourneys.blogspot.com
Put your pin on the farmgirl map! www.farmgirlmap.blogspot.com