Farmgirl in Training

23 Posts

diane
Ukiah ca
USA
23 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2006 :  11:38:42 AM  Show Profile
Hi girls,
I'm new to Farmgirls and this is my 1st posting. So here it goes! We are just beginning to look into buying a small country property in Northern California. I've looked into as many websites as I can find that have farms for sale. Do any of you have suggestions on websites that might be good? I figure this is a good way to begin.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Diane

"I'd rather have roses on my table than diamonds on my neck." ...Emma Goldman

happymama58
True Blue Farmgirl

1210 Posts

Patti
Missouri
USA
1210 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2006 :  4:04:16 PM  Show Profile
I'm not in your area, but around here websites have few rural properties and the prices are high. The places I find the most listings and the lower asking prices are rural newspapers, the ones from small towns in the middle of rural area in the county I'm interested in. We started getting a subscription to a weekly paper a 18 months ago so we could start looking and so we would have an idea of what a reasonable asking price is so when we were ready to buy we'd know what's what. One Sunday or so a month, we drive out in the country, past the properties that are listed (if there are any) to see what they look like.

An added advantage, in my opinion, is we also read all the articles and are getting a feel for what goes on in the area, so that when we do finally make the move we'll be more knowledgeable. We also attend church supper/fund raisers from time to time, and other stuff like that.

Good luck finding what you're looking for!

Some people search for happiness; others create it.
Go to Top of Page

dkgold
Farmgirl in Training

23 Posts

diane
Ukiah ca
USA
23 Posts

Posted - Feb 01 2006 :  5:50:13 PM  Show Profile
Thanks Patti... those are great ideas... I'll see if I can get some subscriptions to the local papers up there.

Diane