Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic Cheap trees! Practically FREE! Next Topic  

Sandra K. Licher
True Blue Farmgirl

1106 Posts

Sandra
Horseshoe Bend Arkansas
1106 Posts

Posted - Apr 26 2009 :  6:58:32 PM  Show Profile
I sent $10.00 to the National Arbor Day Foundation and I received 11 trees! Granted, they're just little sticks right now but they send you a great variety based on trees for your area. I received 2 Sargent Crabapple, 2 Eastern Redbuds, 2 Washington Hawthorns, 2 White Flowering Dogwoods, 2 Goldenrain trees and 1 Crapemyrtle.
They tell you to place them in a protected area for 1-2 years and then transplant to where you want them permanently which is great since I am just beginning to landscape here. So, I potted them all up today in containers that I had bought other plants in like perennials and the pots were about 4" across and about 7-8 inches high. I watered them all and they are now on my sunporch for the summer but they are protected from "critters" and high winds and hopefully they will do well. If they don't you can contact them and they will send you replacements...what a deal! The stems are painted different colors for identifying them and they give you a very thorough planting guide with pictures (I need pictures! LOL!) and also a leaf identification in case they painted them the worng color! Ha! Ha! Anyway, I just thought I would share this with all of you since I had always wondered about it but was afraid I would have to "pick" spots for all these trees immediately....not to worry!
Get them now and you have plenty of time for them to grow before you need to put them permanently in the ground. I'll put them out in the garage probably to over winter but I'll still water them or maybe I'll email N.A.D.F. for their suggestions just to be sure.
So....if you missed Earth Day...it's not too late! Just logon to www.arborday.org

Sam in AR..... "It's a great life if you don't weaken!"
Farmgirl Sister #226

www.farmgirlsam.blogspot.com