mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - Jan 14 2006 :  4:17:56 PM  Show Profile
In our Montana cabin, we heat and cook on an old wood kitchen stove. I am just learning how to use it. For example, I now know that I need to turn the biscuits around half way through the baking time or one half turns out black while the other side doesn't quite get done! Anyone else just use a wood stove for cooking and baking? Any hints?

shepherdess
True Blue Farmgirl

359 Posts

Robin
Eatonville Washington
USA
359 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2006 :  01:01:58 AM  Show Profile
I have an old wood cookstove in my kitchen and I use it quite a bit in the fall and winter. I love it . I have had it for 30 years. It has a wonderful warming oven on the top.I think the food tastes so much better when cooked on it. I also have an electric stove. I cook with cast iron also.

Farm Girl from Western Washington
" From sheep to handspun "
Go to Top of Page

Snowden Cottage
True Blue Farmgirl

56 Posts

Mumsie
Valley WA
USA
56 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2006 :  06:49:43 AM  Show Profile
I have had and cooked/baked with a cookstove for over 25 years..sometimes it is my only option..and I love it..will use it anytime (well..canning in the summer is interesting) over a electric or gas. We will be moving sometime soon (LW)to our cabin which has our big ole stove already in place and it will be the only cooking option. If you can get a copy of Carla Emery's "Old Fashioned Recipe Book" there is a great section on cooking on a woodstove..my first "primer" years ago using my newly acquired stove. The main thing is that you have to plan ahead and it takes more time to use it..but nothing taste better than something baked in a woodstove. I read recently that it has actually been proven that the electromagnetic field in an electric stove alters the food "taste"..for lack of better words..now I know why! Anyway..hope you get the hang of it..and love it, too.

GB Mumsie