Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 Question about plying yarn
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic Question about plying yarn Next Topic  

FiddleChick
True Blue Farmgirl

78 Posts

78 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2009 :  10:48:25 AM  Show Profile
Hi all! I'm just learning to spin (via drop spindle) and I know just enough to be dangerous. I'm getting ready to ply two yarns together and need to know (and the book I ordered on spinning has not arrived yet - argh!) if I should set the twist BEFORE or AFTER plying them together? Any spinners care to enlighten me? Many thanks!

Life is good. Pass the chocolate.

oldfashioned girl
True Blue Farmgirl

2391 Posts

monica
oatman az
USA
2391 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2009 :  10:52:03 AM  Show Profile
Fiddle Chick, First off, WELCOME!!! You want to set the twist after you ply the 2 singles together! There are also a lot of videos on youtube for spinning and plying! Yipee, another spinner!!!

Monica
farmgirls rule!

www.justducky48.etsy.com
www.justducky48.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

FiddleChick
True Blue Farmgirl

78 Posts

78 Posts

Posted - Feb 02 2009 :  5:42:52 PM  Show Profile
Thank you so much Monica!! You know, it's funny, but I learned to spin on the drop spindle from a YouTube video!! I was hoping for more to show me the rest of the process, but I couldn't find anything. I'm having such fun though...just got some alpaca fleece and it's spinning up so fine! I can't believe it. Can't wait to get a real spinning wheel. I'm trying to decide between an Ashford Traveller or a Kromski Minstrel...do you have any experience with either or words of wisdom? I am absolutely DYING to get some yarn plied so I can knit something that I SPUN!! LOL!! Thanks again!!

Go to Top of Page

oldfashioned girl
True Blue Farmgirl

2391 Posts

monica
oatman az
USA
2391 Posts