Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Entrepreneurship
 Running a Design Business from the farm
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Entrepreneurship: Previous Topic Running a Design Business from the farm Next Topic  

boonedesigns
Farmgirl in Training

10 Posts

sandy
danville OH
USA
10 Posts

Posted - Jan 20 2009 :  07:43:41 AM  Show Profile
Just wanted to introduce myself I am new to the forums.

I have been a freelance graphic designer, illustrator and mural artist for over 5 years. (since the birth of my oldest daughter) Before freelancing I drove over an hour each way to work and back and worked for a Marketing Firm in "the city" Columbus, Ohio. I am thrilled at every new project I receive from hard work. As I sit typing this or sketching, designing at my computer or checking email I look out my window at our chicken house & horse barn. I brainstorm ideas while watching our pigmy goat wander in the yard. Breaks between projects I spend changing diapers of our second daughter 23 months, collecting eggs, feeding the horses and peaking on rising bread. I am so blessed to have the talent to make some money doing what I love surrounded by the place and family I love.

For the past 5 years I have received projects from an Agricultural Marketing Firm designing and illustrating for farm projects and horse trainer that I use and watch. That part of my job has been very full filling. I also painted a lot of children's room murals. I must admit the last few years have slowed down a bit probably blamed on the economy. At times it can be very difficult to round up work living way out where I do. But I have been fortunate to keep steady and not to overly busy. Every new client is exciting, some as far away as Canada and Great Britain.