kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Jan 06 2009 :  8:00:46 PM  Show Profile
Oh my goodness gracious. It has been raining here non-stop for 28 hours so far with no stopping in sight. How much more water is up there? It is so very depressing. I have to go out several times a day to feed and check on animals and I am literally soaked to the bone every time. It's just a mess.

The low spot at the bottom of my garden is now a lake and growing by the second. The driveway has been under water most of the day. It's like walking through quick sand to get anywhere out there.

And I have only 1 1/2 bales of hay out back. I will have to go asap tomorrow and get more. In the car, too.

I know the weather people are rejoicing at all this rain. And the farmers, too. Well, I am a small farmer. I know I'll be happy in the summer about all this. But how will the big farmers get tractors in their fields if it's like this in a few months? They'll sink.

I know I'm complaining and gripping and all that, but it's so WET out there! I'm ready to do the un-rain dance now.

Oh, and they've called off schools in Walker, Catoosa and Dade counties because of the "inclement" weather. So one more day of my little sweetie, Kansas!

The news is on now. I'm going to go see how much more of this we can look forward to. Bye.

4 1/2" of rain so far. Trees are falling on houses all over. flash flood warnings. Chickamauga Creek is up almost 18' right now. That's flood stage.

It will stop soon, I'm sure.

Kris

Turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you. Maori proverb

Edited by - kristin sherrill on Jan 06 2009 8:25:49 PM

DaisyFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

1646 Posts

Diane
Victoria BC
Canada
1646 Posts

Posted - Jan 06 2009 :  9:29:12 PM  Show Profile