Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 Egg Question from a Newbie Farmgirl
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Egg Question from a Newbie Farmgirl Next Topic  

damselfly
Farmgirl in Training

10 Posts

Angela
A quiet mountain meadow Missouri
10 Posts

Posted - Jan 04 2009 :  2:01:30 PM  Show Profile

Hi there...I am very new to the country life but I am quickly finding it fits like a glove.
I have 4 hens. Despise not small beginnings, right? We thought we had five hens but it turns out that our youngest "Princess" had to be renamed "Prince Charming". :0)
Anyway, we live in Missouri and with this cold weather I have been bringing in some awfully cold eggs. I am concerned that they may actually be freezing a little. Some of them get tiny, dark speckles on their shells. The speckles look very similar to the way oil will spot paper.
Anyway, can I keep and use these eggs? Any opinions will be appreciated.

Every day you have less reason not to give yourself away. -Wendell Berry

kristin sherrill
True Blue Farmgirl

11303 Posts

kristin
chickamauga ga
USA
11303 Posts

Posted - Jan 04 2009 :  2:09:25 PM  Show Profile
Hey Angela, you might try gathering them earlier. Most hens will lay in the mornings. And I think they should be ok to use. Have you cracked one open yet? What does it look like?

Nice to meet you, too. I live in Ga. In the mud at the moment. Good luck with the eggs. They should be fine.

Kris

Turn your face to the sun and the shadows fall behind you. Maori proverb
Go to Top of Page

sweetproserpina
True Blue Farmgirl

535 Posts

meg
Vinemount Ontario
Canada
535 Posts

Posted - Jan 04 2009 :  2:36:23 PM  Show Profile