JO AND AL
True Blue Farmgirl

235 Posts

Jocelyn
parrsboro nova scotia
Canada
235 Posts

Posted - Dec 13 2005 :  2:25:16 PM  Show Profile
is there anyone out there that can't eat flour? i can't! wondered maybe we could share some gluten free recipees, i cook with it alot but that's for hubby! although it is sooo hard not to eat it at times? jo!p.s. my sister also has this, and she has a lot of recipees and tips on gluten free recipees.

love is all you need

Eileen
True Blue Farmgirl

1199 Posts

Eileen

USA
1199 Posts

Posted - Dec 13 2005 :  5:09:29 PM  Show Profile
Jocelyn,
My husband and I both react to wheat flour. I have been cooking and baking with alternative flours for about 10 years now and would love to share information. I can use Spelt so do use it most of the time. Also use Barley, rye,rice, and others for different things.
Eileen

Songbird; singing joy to the earth
Go to Top of Page

lamarguerite farm
True Blue Farmgirl

649 Posts

missy
Battle Ground Wa
USA
649 Posts

Posted - Dec 14 2005 :  09:31:21 AM  Show Profile
My 6yr. old and I both have wheat allergies. I have tried baking with spelt, but it turns out so dense. Would love some recipes for spelt bread in the oven. We buy ours at the store and pay 3.50-5.00 for a loaf. I would love to be able to just make my own. I also have a sugar sensitivity. Would love to hear any bread, muffin or cookie recipes that are wheat free and sweetened with honey or maple syrup.

If you have a dream, even if you don't feel qualified to accomplish it, just try your hardest.-Maggie Jensen
Go to Top of Page

prairiemaid
True Blue Farmgirl

200 Posts

Margret

Canada
200 Posts

Posted - Dec 15 2005 :  06:56:38 AM  Show Profile
As long as you aren't allergic to nuts, here's a peanut butter cookie recipe:

Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup peanut butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg

Mix well. Roll in a ball and flatten with a fork dipped in sugar. Bake at 350 until browned.