Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Garden Gate
 crabapple trees-not sure they are safe update
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Garden Gate: Previous Topic crabapple trees-not sure they are safe update Next Topic  

wooliespinner
True Blue Farmgirl

1311 Posts

Linda
Manchester Ohio
1311 Posts

Posted - Sep 25 2008 :  1:17:49 PM  Show Profile
I finally did make the crabapple jelly even with a bummed up foot. This recipe called for no pectin. I have never tried this method before. It was suppose to cook until it hit a certain tempature. I think my new thermometer was off. I cooked it and it never showed it reaching the right tempature. I noticed it was getting pretty thick and decided to turn the heat off. I ended up with some really thick like rubber cement jelly. I didn't throw it away but went ahead and canned it. It has a wonderful taste but its kinda hard to spread. The color is really a beautiful pink !!! My husband thinks it taste wonderful.

But I wonder what I should do next time if I can't rely on the thermometer is their another way to determine when its ready. Anyway it was fun being able to use those crabapples and I still left tons for the birds. Take care.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

I purchased a few flowering crabapple trees from a nursery about 6 years ago. This year they are loaded with crabapples.They are red and about the size of marbles or even slightly smaller. The flesh is slightly pink in side and the one is white and a little red.

My question is are these safe to make jelly with ??? I was on the internet trying to get info on if any of the crabapples are toxic. I know there are some crabapples that have much larger fruit and are excellent for jelly but no one say anything about the small ones except that the birds like them. I just want to know if I make jelly from them will they make me sick.