luvnlife
True Blue Farmgirl

82 Posts

Michele
Quincy WA
USA
82 Posts

Posted - Aug 13 2008 :  10:08:42 PM  Show Profile
My area doesn't have an animal shelter that can accommodate horses. I hear that they usually try to place rescued animals in private homes. With times as they are, I imagine "foster" homes are getting harder and harder to find. It's been on my heart to open my barn up to take in a few horses. I really don't know much about the process. Does anyone have any advice as to how to get involved and possible avenues for extra resources for their care? I've been a horse owner for 35 years so I have lots of experience with equines so that's not a concern. I would like to share some of the resources I've been blessed with with some critters that haven't had an easy life.

Be kinder than necessary because everyone you meet is fighting some kind of battle.
Farmgirl Sister #306 :)

Alee
True Blue Farmgirl

22941 Posts

Alee
Worland Wy
USA
22941 Posts

Posted - Aug 13 2008 :  10:26:09 PM  Show Profile  Send Alee a Yahoo! Message
I would suggest calling your local Animal Control or Shelter. They would know where to direct you or be able to sign you up. Some places have "Foster Support" Where they help with food/medicine/needs of the animal they place with you.

I think that is such a wonderful idea! What a great thing you will be doing!

Alee
Farmgirl Sister #8
www.awarmheart.com
Please come visit Nora and me on our new blog:
www.farmgirlalee.blogspot.com
Go to Top of Page

Bear5
True Blue Farmgirl

13055 Posts

Louisiana/Texas
USA
13055 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2008 :  11:15:22 AM  Show Profile
Michele:
You are indeed an animal lover. Keep us posted. I hope you have the chance to take in a few horses who need love and lots of care.
Marly
Go to Top of Page

Homespun Livin
True Blue Farmgirl

409 Posts

Brenda
Louisiana
USA
409 Posts

Posted - Aug 14 2008 :  8:03:53 PM  Show Profile