mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - May 19 2008 :  06:58:46 AM  Show Profile
My old doxie is dying. He is 15, and about 5 days ago, he started to stumble and fall over. He's been blind for awhile, and can barely hear. On Friday, he quit eating and I had to force spoons of water in his mouth. My husband says I should take him to be put down, but I've never done this to a pet before. He doesn't seem to be in any pain, just lies on his blanket and sleeps all day. When he has to pee, he whines and I take him out and he goes. He drank some water today but still hasn't eaten. I'm torn between letting him go naturally because I really don't think he's in any pain, or taking him in. What have been your experiences with this?

Farmgirl Sister #98
Check out my new online store
http://www.shopthefrontier.com/VFstore/index.php?manufacturers_id=79&osCsid=6be4b25bf9555031c6e2e86bbde23dba

Edited by - mikesgirl on May 19 2008 7:57:09 PM

Firemama
True Blue Farmgirl

1731 Posts

Amanda
Medical Lake WA
USA
1731 Posts

Posted - May 19 2008 :  07:31:38 AM  Show Profile  Send Firemama a Yahoo! Message
Oh Sherri I am so sorry. I had to put my pup down about 5 years ago. I think it is the humane thing to do, personally. I couldnt see letting her suffer any longer.
I will be thinking of you today.

Mama to 2
FarmGirl# 20

Rich or Poor, It Dont matter We're all the same everybodys hungry in a different way....

http://myfarmdreams.blogspot.com/

www.justanotherhousewife.etsy.com
Go to Top of Page

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - May 19 2008 :  07:46:48 AM  Show Profile
Oh...I'm terribly sorry. I had to make the decision for my Lilly at 14, but she was in terrible pain and it was very evident. Even then, I must have cancelled that appointment 3 times before my husband gave me the courage to keep it.