Prairie Princess
True Blue Farmgirl

1075 Posts

Jodi
Washington
USA
1075 Posts

Posted - May 12 2008 :  06:57:55 AM  Show Profile
I've never tried it before...what kind of red wine do you ladies find to be best for cooking with?

~Jodi

"Women are like teabags...you never know how strong they are until they get into hot water." Eleanor Roosevelt

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - May 12 2008 :  07:09:21 AM  Show Profile
It all depends on what you're making, Jodi. For spaghetti sauces, I used a merlot or burgandy...something with a rich, mellow flavor. For chicken and white meat dishes, I use a dry white like a chardonnay.

What are you cookin' up?

Farmgirl Sister #80, thanks to a very special farmgirl from the Bluegrass..."She was built like a watch, a study in balance ... with a neck and head so refined, like a drawing by DaVinci"...
NY Newsday sportswriter Bill Nack describing filly, Ruffian.
http://www.buyhandmade.org/
Go to Top of Page

Prairie Princess
True Blue Farmgirl

1075 Posts

Jodi
Washington
USA
1075 Posts

Posted - May 12 2008 :  07:28:32 AM  Show Profile
Jonni, I actually haven't decided what I'm making yet, lol. Just playing with the idea of trying something new. Getting bored with the same recipes and such, and so I was browsing through some of the past threads here looking for new ideas, and it struck me that I've never even considered cooking with wine before... I'll have to look for some specific recipes to try.

~Jodi

"Women are like teabags...you never know how strong they are until they get into hot water." Eleanor Roosevelt
Go to Top of Page

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - May 12 2008 :  07:38:57 AM  Show Profile
It's always good to experiment, Jodi :)...here are some suggestions for the way I use wine in cooking: