Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Stitching & Crafting Room
 What is the shelf-life of yarn?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Stitching & Crafting Room: Previous Topic What is the shelf-life of yarn? Next Topic  

dg7954
True Blue Farmgirl

129 Posts

Diane
Doylestown pa
USA
129 Posts

Posted - Sep 24 2005 :  02:47:46 AM  Show Profile
I am in the planning stages of opening a yarn store/art gallery in Doylestown, Pa. Trying to cover as many bases as possible, I was wondering if anything happens to yarn if, let's say, it's left in a basket for a long period of time without being stored in a plastic bag. Does it dry out or fade? Would dust in general affect it?

KarenP
True Blue Farmgirl

666 Posts

Karen
Chippewa Falls Wisconsin
USA
666 Posts

Posted - Sep 24 2005 :  05:18:28 AM  Show Profile
Hi Diane,
I'm no expert, but I do know the type of lighting you use will affect some dyes.
I took a weaving lesson form a woman who owns a book and fiber store, with fluorecent lighting, she has had problems with reds and pink cotton rug warp fading badly.
I would check with a few of the manufacturers you plan to carry for suggestions.
Please let us know if you will do mail order!
I'd be interested if you will carry weaving supplies too!
KarenP

"Purest Spring Water in the World"
Go to Top of Page

thehouseminder
True Blue Farmgirl

361 Posts

USA
361 Posts

Posted - Sep 24 2005 :  06:55:31 AM  Show Profile
You want to be careful of light but yarns biggest enemies are acid and moths.