Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Barnyard Buddies
 Processing and marketing Shetland Wool
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Barnyard Buddies: Previous Topic Processing and marketing Shetland Wool Next Topic  

LunaTheFarmLady
True Blue Farmgirl

448 Posts

Luna
Rineyville KY
USA
448 Posts

Posted - Jan 26 2008 :  2:25:20 PM  Show Profile
I have 6 ewes and a ram and a wether in assorted natural colors. They are hopefully all pregnant and I will be shearing them in late Feb. I've never done this before on this scale (small for some I guess, but a lot for me). I will want to process or store (?) the wool for spinning. Some for my self and some to market. Any advice in this area would be great.

Luna

windypines
True Blue Farmgirl

4185 Posts

Michele
Bruce Wisconsin
USA
4185 Posts

Posted - Jan 26 2008 :  3:49:02 PM  Show Profile
Hi Luna, I have two shetland crosses that I had sheared for the first time last year. Now I don't know much about it, but.....I did keep, and still do, the wool in a cotton bag. I made it out of an old sheet. I am working on carding and spinning now. Good Luck

Michele
Go to Top of Page

prairielandherbs
True Blue Farmgirl

690 Posts

Maggie
Iowa
USA
690 Posts

Posted - Jan 27 2008 :  10:42:18 AM  Show Profile