Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 I am scared of my pressure cooker...need recipes
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic I am scared of my pressure cooker...need recipes Next Topic  

Fabulous Farm Femmes
True Blue Farmgirl

792 Posts

Diane
Lakebay, Tacoma WA
792 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2005 :  01:38:28 AM  Show Profile  Send Fabulous Farm Femmes an AOL message
I have never used one before..HELP!! I finally got one now the kids are gone..figures..
Now that I don't need quart jars of veggies, what else can i can?Someone mention chili and baked beans..recipes? Any body know a good web sight or book for canning with a PC?

ThymeForEweFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

705 Posts

Robin
An organic farm in the forest in Maine
USA
705 Posts

Posted - Aug 20 2005 :  04:45:42 AM  Show Profile
The Ball Blue Book is a great place to start. It's inexpensive and full of recipes for pressure canning and non-pressure canning.

http://ohioline.osu.edu/hyg-fact/5000/5338.html
http://www.extension.umn.edu/info-u/nutrition/BJ604.html
http://extension.usu.edu/files/foodpubs/canfs01.htm
http://www.fcs.uga.edu/pubs/current/FDNS-E-37-3.html

These should get you off to a good start, along with the literature that came with the canner.

When you look at the lid of the canner you should see a pressure valve. If you accidentally build up too much pressure the lid isn't going to blow off. The pressure valve will pop and release steam from the canner instead. A pressure canner is very easy to use. Once you've used it a time or two you'll feel a lot better about it.

You don't have to use quart jars. You can put in pints and might be able to put in two layers of them.

When I do a search I usually add "university" to the keywords. If you search "pressure canning recipe university" or some combination of that you should get a lot of links.

Robin
www.thymeforewe.com
Go to Top of Page

lareyna