BuckBellHill
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Fern
Belfast Tennessee
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2005 :  7:41:18 PM  Show Profile
Okay, I hate to do this to you experienced true blue farmgirls, but I could use some advice about the best way to begin planning to till part of one of my pastures for planting in the spring. I have a 10 acre pasture that I've had baled which produced high quality clover hay...so I'm told. I want to start small with 1/2 acre at first. I've been doing research, but there are so many methods, I don't know where to begin. I'm really new at this!

Fern
Buck Bell Hill

Clare
True Blue Farmgirl

2173 Posts

NC WA State
USA
2173 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2005 :  7:57:42 PM  Show Profile
What is your end goal for your half acre, Fern? That will help determine what methods you use to work the land. Be mindful that clover is rather hard to irradicate from where ever it grows... but you most likely might begin with hiring to have someone custom plow then disc the sod. Plowing goes deep and turns over big chunks of dirt. It is often now not recommended because it may promote erosion. Discing will work up the top layer of soil and turn it over. You might go back to your county extension service again for recommendations on soil tillage for your area. It all depends on what type of soil you have,- sandy, clay, loam, etc... for what the best method may be... (Doing a half acre by hand tilling would be an overwhelming job for you and for the rototiller.)

**** Love is the great work - though every heart is first an apprentice. - Hafiz
Set a high value on spontaneous kindness. - Samuel Johnson****
Go to Top of Page

BuckBellHill
Farmgirl in Training

32 Posts

Fern
Belfast Tennessee
USA
32 Posts

Posted - Aug 08 2005 :  9:14:48 PM  Show Profile