True Blue Farmgirl

100 Posts

Erica
North Dakota
USA
100 Posts

Posted - Sep 01 2007 :  04:35:49 AM  Show Profile
Hi girls,

I saw there were a few posts recently about pumpkins and growing times...but I am new to growing pumpkins..just moved from the suburbs to a house in the country and wanted to try growing pumpkins since we are all Fall/Halloween lovers in my family....

Anyway, I planted the seeds in July, and the plants are absolutely gorgeous...the vines are growing out into the yard and I have the most beautiful yellow flowers on the vines. We have been worried because farmers are already selling full grown pumpkins in our area, and I only have little green balls on my vines. They just appeared and look like little watermelon balls...so I am wondering if you think I will have some good sized pumpkins to carve by the middle of Oct....many folks around here tell me I planted to late, but I thinking that since the farmers have pumpkins now, they would be rotted by mid-October....does anyone have experience with pumpkins in Central Pa area...Thanks, Erica

lisamarie508
True Blue Farmgirl

2648 Posts

Lisa
Idaho City ID
USA
2648 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  05:12:27 AM  Show Profile
Unfortunately, Erica, I think you did plant too late. Last year my pumpkins were ripe at this time and I was afraid they would rot by Halloween, but they did just fine. You will probably only have small ones that might be big enough to paint but I doubt they will turn orange in time. But cheer up! Lesson learned; there's always next year.

my blog: http://lisamariesbasketry.blogspot.com/
My Website:
http://www.freewebs.com/lisamariesbasketry/index.htm
Go to Top of Page

mima
True Blue Farmgirl

1573 Posts

1573 Posts

Posted - Sep 05 2007 :  07:15:21 AM  Show Profile