Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 canning and jamming with paraffin?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic canning and jamming with paraffin? Next Topic  

Annika
True Blue Farmgirl

5602 Posts

Annika

USA
5602 Posts

Posted - Aug 28 2007 :  10:13:01 AM  Show Profile
When I was a wee lass, we would get baskets of preserves, jams and jellies with paraffin on top and no lids from older family members...is it safe? how does one do so safely? I never got sick from it, so I am curious since I can't seem to find lids for many of the jars that I've inherited and I'm a noob to putting up food.

Any help would be very graciously accepted
Regards
Annika

Edited by - Annika on Aug 28 2007 10:13:26 AM

LadyCrystal
True Blue Farmgirl

593 Posts

Alicia
Rhode Island
USA
593 Posts

Posted - Aug 28 2007 :  10:21:40 AM  Show Profile
My Aunt used to can Jellies and Jams this way too but before I canned some strawberyy jam I looked it up and this is an outdated method and isn't concidered safe. What brand are your jars. I found replacement lids and tops at walmart and my local agway. I have even found then on line. I would just google the size you need. I found canning addictive. I love having the food I grow year round. And they taste so much better than mass produced foods.

http://fromcitytocountrygirl.blogspot.com/
follow your dreams

Edited by - LadyCrystal on Aug 28 2007 10:22:26 AM
Go to Top of Page

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Aug 28 2007 :  12:55:33 PM  Show Profile
My mom always canned jam and jelly with parrafin on top..I did it once and then decided that it is way easier and less messy for me (I tend to make messes where others might not!) to use the 2 part lids and canning jars so I have always done that ever since. I just love canning..you will too I am sure!!

Jenny in Utah